While each state has different requirements about who is qualified to perform IV Therapy, in general the following kinds of practitioners are allowed to perform intravenous therapies:

  • Licensed Nurse Practicioner (LNP)
  • Surgeons
  • Registered Nurses (RN)
  • Naturopathic Doctors (ND)
  • Medical Doctors (MD)
  • Licensed Vocational Nurse (LVN)

Medical doctors and naturopaths must complete some continuing education courses that enable them to administer IV Therapy. Most nurses get the education during their schooling in how to administer IV’s; however, this widely depends on where they attended school and what kind of nursing degree was obtained. Surgeons are able to insert IV’s because training in this type of procedure is obtained very early in their education. Practitioners such as chiropractors, acupuncturists, and physical therapists are not allowed to give IV Therapy.

Certification of IV Therapy specialists

While IV Therapy is a low risk and simple procedure, physicians must be trained in how to correctly administer an IV. Because a line is being inserted into the vein during IV Therapy, only practitioners that have extensive education and that specialize in intravenous therapy are allowed to perform the procedure. Risk such as air emboli, bruising, and hematomas have an increased likelihood of occurring with an untrained physician. IV Therapy specialists must be licensed medical practitioners, and the rules vary from state to state on who is able to administer IV Therapy.

View a full list of our Intravenous Therapy Specialists nationwide.